After you click on the left side of the interface, the Tasks page opens. The Tasks page lets you keep track of work that needs to be completed and visualize the work flow. When creating a task, you can provide various kinds of information for it.
The Tasks page is a single framework with multiple views, which can be accessed on the right side of the interface. The different views are:
- Task Board (default view)
The Task Board view is similar to a Kanban board. It consists of three preset milestones: To Do, In Progress, and Completed.
When you create a new task, it is placed by default in the “To Do” column. As the task progresses, you can click and drag it, moving it to “In Progress,” and finally to “Completed.”
The Calendar view displays tasks in a calendar format for the day, week, and month. This view is useful for seeing when tasks begin and end in relation to one another, based on their start and due dates. Tasks that do not have start and due dates are shown as all day events in the day and week views. Under the calendar, the tasks are listed in a grid.
When you select a task, the Task Details dialog opens so that you can make adjustments.
Following are the activities involved with tasks:
- Create You can create tasks to help organize your workload. This includes the ability to set the priority level, dates, and estimated hours on tasks; associate tasks with Flare projects; assign tasks to others or to yourself; and attach files to tasks. See Creating and Assigning Tasks.
- View Details When working in any of the views on the Tasks page, anyone can click a task to view its details. From here, you can take various actions (e.g., move, edit, delete, add attachments, add comments) on the task, as long as you have the “Create/Edit Tasks” permission. See Viewing Task Details.
- Edit After creating a task, you can edit it to make changes or additions. See Editing Tasks.
- Move You can move tasks between milestones (To Do, In Progress, Completed). You can also move completed tasks to the Archive area, and you can move unfinished tasks to the Backlog area so they can be addressed later. Tasks can be moved by dragging them, or by using menu options. See Moving Tasks.
- Add Comments You can add comments to task cards. This preserves any conversations between you and others about a specific task. A bubble icon at the bottom of the task card shows how many comments have been added to the task. See Adding Comments to Tasks.
- Filter When viewing tasks, you can use several filter options to limit the tasks shown and make it easier to find what you’re looking for. See Filtering Tasks.
- Delete Tasks can be deleted from the Central license. See Deleting Tasks.