If you are associated with a project and have the appropriate permissions, you can open the Build Management view of a project. From here, you can manage various aspects of the project’s output.
Following are some of the major benefits of generating output in Central:
- It is quite easy to publish a particular build, setting it as “Live.” This can be done with the click of a single button.
- You can set multiple builds in the same target to “Live,” which can be useful for documentation in different versions.
- If necessary, it is very simple to roll back a live build to an earlier build.
- Central hosts the output for you, which means you do not need to involve your IT department to help with the publishing process.
Following are the primary activities associated with project builds in Central:
- Running/Scheduling If you are associated with uploaded Flare projects in Central, you can open the Build Management view of the Projects page. From here, you can build targets manually, or you can schedule targets to be generated. See Running and Scheduling Builds.
- Setting Builds to “Live” or “Keep” After you successfully generate a target in Central, you can mark that build as “Live” or “Keep.” Setting a build to “Live” means that the output can be viewed by the public. You can also set a build to “Keep” in case you want to avoid deleting it, perhaps with the intention of rolling back to it at some point (i.e., setting it to “Live”). See Setting Builds to Live or Keep.
- Excluding from Search Engines For each build that you set to “Live,” you have the option to prevent the output from being used by search engines. See Excluding Live Builds from Search Engines.
- Viewing Output If you are associated with a project, you can view the generated output for a target. See Viewing Output.
- Opening the Build Log Anytime you build a target, a build log is automatically created. After opening a build log file, you can see more details of any warnings or errors you may have gotten when building the target. See Opening the Build Log.
- Downloading After generating a target, you can download the output to your computer. This is an optional step, in case you want to have a local copy of the build (e.g., you want to view your Microsoft HTML Help output, which is an output format that you cannot view from Central). See Downloading Builds.
- Deleting If you generate builds that you do not plan to keep or publish, you can delete them. This frees up space on the system. See Deleting Builds.
- Viewing Deleted Targets If you have multiple targets in your project, over time you may need to remove some of those targets from your Flare project. However, your builds will remain in Central. You can view these deleted targets in Central, so you know which targets in Central have been “orphaned” and no longer have an associated target in the local Flare project. See Viewing Deleted Targets.
Each license has a vanity URL. The URL consists of your license (e.g., company) name followed by a period, then “mcoutput.com” (e.g., https://fictionsoft.mcoutput.com). When you generate a target and set it to “Live,” a number is auto-generated to represent the target and this is added to the URL, along with the entry file for the output (e.g., https://fictionsoft.mcoutput.com/64951/Default.htm). Users can see your output by using that final URL. You can change the vanity URL in the Server Settings dialog. This lets you change the prefix of the URL (i.e., you cannot change mcoutput.com, but you can change what comes before it).
You can create a custom vanity URL for each target, or for each build. Having vanity URLs on builds allows you to have multiple outputs set to the “Live” status, each with its own URL. When you set a target or build vanity URL, that text is used—along with your license vanity URL—to create the complete path for your output.
Important: Use caution when changing your license vanity URL. It is generally best to do this when your Central license is new and before you have set builds to “Live.” If you have already published outputs and then decide to change the vanity URL, any links to the older URL will be broken.
Important: When changing your license vanity URL, keep in mind that MadCap Software is not responsible for other companies claiming a particular name before you are able to.
Note: Only administrators with "Server Management" permission can change the license vanity URL.
Note: If you have an older URL that you need to continue to use in order to maintain consistency with your company and prevent older links from breaking, you can create a redirect from that URL to your new vanity URL. Ask the web administrator in your company for assistance with this.
Note: In addition to your live URL, a private URL is also generated and provided to you. This occurs for each build, whether it is set to “Live” or “Keep,” or neither. This URL is useful for easily sharing generated output with individuals in your organization (e.g., for reviews and knowledge transfer). Only people who are registered on your Central license can access this URL. See Using Private URLs.
In your account settings, you can choose when to be notified for specific activities. The user who is notified depends on the activity.
Note: Certain Flare features are not supported when generating output from Central. This includes limitations on which output formats can be generated and viewed from Central.
Note: If you intend to build a target that links to an outside Flare project (e.g., for the purpose of importing files via Global Project Linking, project merging, or multilingual output), make sure that the other project is also uploaded to Central. Otherwise, the automated imports or merging will not work.